SA Health Accreditation Resources

Health care services are accredited every three years against the National Safety and Quality Health Service (NSQHS) Standards, developed by the Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care. Accreditation is a quality assurance mechanism, testing whether relevant systems are in place and working effectively to provide the expected standard of patient safety and quality.

From January 2019, health care services across SA Health will be assessed to the National Safety and Quality Health Service (NSQHS) Standards 2nd Edition. The Australian Commission has released supporting resources and further information including assessor online training courses. The second edition of the Standards includes a greater focus on mental health, cognitive impairment, health literacy and Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people.

National Model Clinical Governance Framework

The National Model Clinical Governance Framework (PDF 1MB) outlines the requirements for clinical governance, which is a set of relationships and responsibilities established by a health service organisation between its state or territory department of health, governing body, executive workforce, patients, consumers and other stakeholders to ensure good clinical outcomes.

User guide

The NSQHS Standards User guide for governing bodies outlines the actions in the NSQHS Standards that require health service organisation leaders, especially members of the governing boards to act.

Eight standards

SA Health has prepared interactive accreditation resources to support staff who are preparing for an assessment. Each resource lists the relevant SA Health policies, resources and supporting actions that can be used by staff as evidence of meeting the criteria within each of the following eight standards:

Standard One: Clinical Governance (PDF 236KB)

The clinical governance and safety and quality systems to maintain and improve the reliability, safety and quality of health care, and improve health outcomes for patients.

Standard Two: Partnering with Consumers (PDF 190KB)

The systems and strategies to create a person-centred health system by including patients in shared decision making, partners in their own care, and consumers in the development of quality health care.

Standard Three: Preventing and Controlling Healthcare-Associated Infection (PDF 207KB)

The systems and strategies to prevent infection, manage infections effectively when they occur, and limit antimicrobial resistance through prudent use of antimicrobials and antimicrobial stewardship.

Standard Four: Medication Safety (PDF 212KB)

The systems and strategies to ensure clinicians safely prescribe, dispense and administer appropriate medicines to informed patients, and monitor use of the medicines.

Standard Five: Comprehensive Care (PDF 216KB)

The integrated screening, assessment and risk identification processes for developing an individualised care plan, to prevent and minimise the risks of harm in identified areas.

Standard Six: Communicating for Safety (PDF 180KB)

The systems and strategies for effective communication between patients, carers and families, multidisciplinary teams and clinicians, and across the health service organisation.

Standard Seven: Blood Management (PDF 179KB)

The systems and strategies for safe, appropriate, efficient and effective care of patients’ own blood, well as other supplies of blood and blood products.

Standard Eight: Recognising and Responding to Acute Deterioration (PDF 177KB)

The systems and processes to respond effectively to patients when their physical, mental or cognitive condition deteriorates.


Clinical Governance Unit